Javits CEO Alan Steel to receive 2021 Sing for Hope Art for All Award

Share on

NEW YORK – On Monday, September 21, Alan Steel, President & Chief Executive Officer of the New York Convention Center Operating Corporation, will receive the 2021 Sing for Hope Art for All Award. The award will be presented to Mr. Steel by Sing for Hope Co-Founders Monica Yunus and Camille Zamora at the Nest Summit at the Javits Center during Climate Week. Mr. Steel’s award will be highlighted by a brief musical tribute performed by Ms. Yunus and Ms. Zamora, together with Sing for Hope Project Leader Victoria Paterson and a chamber ensemble.

Each year, Sing for Hope chooses to honor several “world-changers” who have made important contributions to our country’s arts, philanthropy, and cultural scene. This year, the Board of Directors of Sing for Hope unanimously decided to award Mr. Steel with a 2021 Sing for Hope Art for All Award for his inspiring work and game-changing contributions to our local and global communities. 

Mr. Steel’s sterling leadership of the country’s largest event space has been characterized by a vision for sustainability and community. Among the highlights of his leadership is Javits’ new “farm in the sky” located on the roof of the center’s new wing on West 40th Street, part of New York’s $100B statewide infrastructure plan and emblematic of his focus on environmentally friendly innovation at this center. His vision extends to the arts, about which he feels passionate. During the pandemic, thanks to Mr. Steel’s advocacy and cornerstone underwriting provided by CC Capital, Sing for Hope became one of the most significant employers of freelance professional musicians in New York City, providing 125 days of consecutive live musical programming at Javits Vaccination Center. The Sing for Hope musical vaccination program at Javits reached an estimated 270,000 community members comprised of vaccine recipients, medical staff, Javits staff, and National Guard. 

Mr. Steel joins a remarkable group of luminaries who have received the Sing for Hope Art for All Award in past years, including Tony Bennett, Renée Fleming, Jane Fonda, Kevin and Marina Krim, Reynold Levy, Joseph Polisi, Hamdi Ulukaya, Muhammad Yunus, Francesca Zambello, and Ann Ziff. The other two cultural leaders to receive Sing for Hope Art for All Awards this year are renowned actress and activist Monique Coleman (awarded on August 5 at The Wallis Annenberg Center For the performing arts in Beverly Hills) and Daphne Rubin-Vega (to be awarded on September 28 at Fosun’s Liberty Plaza in Lower Manhattan).

More News

We can’t do it without you.

Please donate today and help us bring hope where it’s needed most. 

Through July 31, 100% of your donation goes to fund our Creative Hope for Refugees program, and every dollar donated will be matched by the Sing for Hope Board of Directors.

Sing for Hope is a registered 501(c)(3) charitable organization (EIN 01-0856384).

Sing for Hope

Physical Address:
Sing for Hope
28 Liberty Street, Level 2B
New York, NY 10015

T. 212-966-5955

Mailing Address for Donations:
c/o SobelCo Certified Public Accounting
50 Tice Boulevard, Suite 175
Woodcliff Lake, NJ 07677

Sing for Hope is the official Cultural Partner of the World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates.


  • The International Foundation for Arts and Culture
    (Dr. Haruhisa Handa, Chairman, Sing for Hope Global Patron)
  • The Arnhold Foundation in loving memory of Sissy and Henry Arnhold
  • The Thea Petschek Iervolino Foundation
  • The Anna-Maria & Stephen Kellen Foundation
  • Ann Ziff

Sing for Hope is supported, in part, by the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and by the Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation.


Sing for Hope is a registered 501(c)(3) charitable organization (EIN 01-0856384). A copy of our most recently filed financial report is available from the Charities Registry on the New York State Attorney General’s website (www.charitiesnys.com) or, upon request, by contacting the New York State Attorney General, Charities Bureau, 28 Liberty Street, New York, NY 10005, or Sing for Hope at 99 Wall Street #1812, New York, NY 10005. You also may obtain information on charitable organizations from the New York State Office of the Attorney General at www.charitiesnys.com or (212) 416-8401.

Our mission is “art for all” – we actively engage those with special physical or intellectual needs. Both our office and our SFH Pianos Studio at 28 Liberty are ADA compliant, as are our partner sites.

© 2022 by Sing for Hope, Inc. All rights reserved. No images may be reproduced without written consent.